We host visiting scholars and researchers from around the world. The program provides visitors access to our facilities so visitors can actively participate in MAGIC projects or conduct research on an approved topic.

Benefits to researchers: access to top notch researchers in a large range of disciplines across the university, access to a unique research environment to do new research, and opportunity to do research in new areas with professors at UBC.

Prospective applicants should contact us with a proposal along with a current resume.

Researcher in Residence Program

MAGIC welcomes Researchers in Residence (RiR). Through sponsorship, industrial partners can have one of their researchers join MAGIC for up to a one year stay. As an RiR, researchers will participate in active research at UBC, participate in group and individual research meetings with MAGIC affiliates, have access to a graduate and undergraduate students, and be able to audit UBC courses with the instructor’s permission. MAGIC supplies an office, lab space and some administrative support as well.

Benefits to Company: access to intellectual resources at UBC, have inside knowledge of leading research at a world-class university, bridge to form research relationships and collaborations with professors and students at UBC.

If you are interested in having one of your researcher’s be an RiR at MAGIC, please contact Director of MAGIC ( Fees associated with an RiR are typically negotiated on a case-by-case basis.

Visiting Researchers

Valéria de Cássia Sparapani – University of São Paulo at Ribeirão Preto, Brazil
Andre de Oliveira Bueno – Federal University of São Carlos, Brazil
Lei Shi – Beijing Institute of Technology, China
Elias Goulart – Universidade Municipal de Sao Caetano do Sul, Brazil

Steve DiPaola – Simon Fraser University, Canada
Liane Gabora – University of BC Okanagan, Canada
William Wong, Middlesex University’s School of Science and Tech, London, UK

Liang Li – Ritsumeikan University, Japan
Reinaldo de Oliveira Castro – Universidade Federal de São Carlos, Brazil
Ricardo Aparecido Perez de Almeida – Universidade Federal de São Carlos, Brazil
Marcia Aguena – Universidade Federal de São Carlos, Brazil
Takatsugu Hirayama – Nagoya University, Japan
Fumiharu Tomiyasu – Nagoya University, Japan
Kensho Hara – Nagoya University, Japan
Kenji Mase – Nagoya University, Japan

Loïc DURON – Elève ingénieur à Telecom Saint-Etienne Spécialité Imagerie et Vision, France
Nicolas PAJNIC – Elève ingénieur à Telecom Saint-Etienne Spécialité Imagerie et Vision, France
Ho Beom Kwon – Sungkyunkwan University School of Medicine, Korea
Dr Elias Goulart – Universidade de São Caetano do Sul, Brazil
Paloma Díaz – Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
Ignacio Aedo – Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
Aura Pon – Computational Media Design program at the University of Calgary, Canada

Shina Saito – Ritsumeikan University
Dr. Guang-Bin Huang – Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Dr. Masaomi Oda – Ritsumeikan University, Japan
Daesik Jang – Kunsan National University, South Korea
Dr. Jiali Zhao – Jiaotong University, Beijing 
Stefanie Müller – Hochschule Harz (FH) University of Applied Science, Germany
Jonas Chatel-Goldman – Grenoble National Polytechnic Institute, France
Cornelia Spanner – Media Informatics at Ludwig-Maximilians Univ. Munich
Clemens Weidenhiller – Media Informatics at Ludwig-Maximilians Univ. Munich
Wibke Kreft – DesignLabel

Atsushi Okamoto – Ritsumeikan University, Japan
Kazu Nomura – Ritsumeikan University, Japan
Thomas Bauer – Media Informatics at Ludwig-Maximilians University Munich
Dr. Xin Yin – Ritsumeikan University, Japan

Seiya Tsuruta – Ritsumeikan University, Japan
Masaki Yamazaki – Ritsumeikan University, Japan
Kochimura Hachimura – Ritsumeikan University

Katrin Sauerwein – Maximilians-University, Germany
Dr. Eun-Jung Han – Soongsil University, South Korea
Adrian Friday – Lancaster University, United Kingdom
Roujiar Manouchehri – Delft University of Technology
Rimalda van Beurden – Delft University of Technology

Dr. Chee Siong Quek – Polytechnic, Singapore
Jing Cheng – Hunan University, China
Veronica Costa – Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya
Hai Nam Ha – University of Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK

Sachiyo Takahashi – Heart of PQ project, Japan
Eric Kremers – Technical University of Eindhoven
Sung Bae Cho – Yonsei University, Korea
Kento Miyaoku – NTT Cyber Solutions Laboratories, Japan